TV Academy Announces 22nd Hall of Fame Inductees

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ Hall of Fame Committee has selected actor/director/producer Ron Howard, sportscaster Al Michaels, executive Leslie Moonves, journalist Bob Schieffer, and producer Dick Wolf as the newest inductees into the Television Academy’s Hall of Fame. Inventor Philo T. Farnsworth will also be inducted posthumously. The group will be honored at the 22nd Annual Hall of Fame induction ceremony held at The Beverly Hilton Hotel on March 11, 2013.

Additionally, this year’s Hall of Fame will benefit the Archive of American Television! As Jerry Petry, Chairman of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation (parent organization of the Archive ) stated, “Each of this year’s honorees has had their achievements and personal stories chronicled in our Archive, and we can’t think of a better way to honor them than to perpetuate the good work of the Foundation.”

As Petry alluded, the Archive of American Television has conducted interviews with all but one of the new honorees – Philo T. Farnsworth passed away before the Archive’s inception, but we did interview his wife, Elma “Pem” Farnsworth. Below enjoy selections from Archive interviews with or touting this year’s Hall of Fame inductees:

Ron Howard on playing “Opie” on The Andy Griffith Show:

Al Michaels on the 1980 Olympics’ “Miracle on Ice:”

Leslie Moonves on the future of television:

Bob Schieffer on the role of the mainstream media:

Dick Wolf on the importance of casting:

Elma Farnsworth on her husband Philo’s idea for all-electronic television at age fourteen:

More from our Featured Story on the 22nd Annual Hall of Fame Inductees.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • NewsVine
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Tumblr
  • Fark
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace
  • PDF
  • Print
  • email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.