Television Academy Hall of Fame

More than 125 Industry Legends Honored 

With the 2014 induction of Ray Dolby, David E. Kelley, Jay Leno, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Rupert Murdoch, and Brandon Stoddardthe Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame grew to well over 125 honorees. (Scroll down to see the complete list of inductees.)

These pioneers have helped shape the most important and influential medium of our time, whether in front of the camera or behind it. 

The Hall of Fame honors actors, comics, directors, producers, costume designers, writers, animators, executives, reporters, explorers—and the list goes on and on, covering the gamut of talent that it takes to entertain, inform and enrich a mass audience.

History of the Award

The Hall of Fame was founded by a former president of the Television Academy, the late John H. Mitchell.

Mitchell sought to honor individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to television. In the words of the selection committee, the Hall of Fame is for "persons who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of television, based upon either cumulative contributions and achievements or a singular contribution or achievement." 

The first ceremony in 1984 celebrated the careers of Lucille Ball, Milton Berle, Paddy Chayefsky, Norman Lear, Edward R. Murrow, William S. Paley and David Sarnoff. The honorees received glass statuettes in the form of two ballet dancers that were created by sculptor and painter Pascal to reflect the self-discipline required in all facets of the arts. 

Since 1988, inductees have brought home an award in the form of a crystal television screen atop a cast-bronze base. The new awards were designed by the late art director Romain Johnston. 

Past Honorees:

23rd HoF Ray Dolby, David E. Kelley, Jay Leno, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Rupert Murdoch, Brandon Stoddard

22nd HoF Ron Howard, Al Michaels, Les Moonves, Bob Shieffer, Dick Wolf, and Philo T. Farnsworth 

21st HOF Mary-Ellis Bunim & Jonathan Murray, Michael Eisner, Bill Klages, Mario Kreutzberger, Chuck Lorre, William Frawley & Vivian Vance 

20th HoF Diahann Carroll, Tom Freston, Earle Hagen, Susan Harris, Peter Jennings, Cloris Leachman, Bill Todman

19th HoF The Smothers Brothers (Tom and Dick), Candice Bergen, Bob Stewart, Charles Lisanby, Don Pardo, Gene Roddenberry

18th HoF Beatrice Arthur, Larry Gelbart, Merv Griffin, Thomas S. Murphy & Daniel B. Burke, Sherwood Schwartz

17th HoF Tom Brokaw, James Burrows, Leonard Goldberg, Regis Philbin, William Shatner

16th HoF Bob Barker, Art Carney, Katie Couric, Dan Rather, Brandon Tartikoff, Charles Cappleman

15th HoF Tim Conway & Harvey Korman, John Frankenheimer, Bob Mackie, Jean Stapleton, Bud Yorkin

14th HoF Herbert Brodkin, Robert MacNeil & Jim Lehrer, Lorne Michaels, Carl Reiner, Fred Rogers, Fred Silverman, Ethel Winant

13th HoF James L. Brooks, Garry Marshall, Quinn Martin, Diane Sawyer, Grant Tinker

12th HoF Edward Asner, Steven Bochco, Marcy Carsey & Tom Werner, Charles Kuralt, Angela Lansbury, Aaron Spelling, Lew R. Wasserman

11th HoF Michael Landon, Richard Levinson & William Link, Jim McKay, Bill Moyers, Dick Van Dyke, Betty White

10th HoF Alan Alda, Howard Cosell, Barry Diller, Fred W. Friendly, William Hanna & Joseph Barbera, Oprah Winfrey

9th HoF John Chancellor, Dick Clark, Phil Donahue, Mark Goodson, Bob Newhart, Agnes Nixon, Jack Webb

8th HoF Bill Cosby, Andy Griffith, Ted Koppel, Sheldon Leonard, Dinah Shore, Ted Turner

7th HoF Leonard Bernstein, Desi Arnaz, Mike Wallace, Danny Thomas, James Garner, and the series I Love Lucy

6th HoF Roone Arledge, Fred Astaire, Perry Como, Joan Ganz Cooney, Don Hewitt, Carroll O'Connor, Barbara Walters

5th HoF Jack Benny, George Burns & Gracie Allen, Chet Huntley & David Brinkley, Red Skelton, David Susskind, David L. Wolper

4th HoF Johnny Carson, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Leonard Goldenson, Jim Henson, Bob Hope, Ernie Kovacs, Eric Sevareid

3rd HoF Steve Allen, Fred Coe, Walt Disney, Jackie Gleason, Mary Tyler Moore, Frank Stanton, Burr Tillstrom

2nd HoF Carol Burnett, Sid Caesar, Walter Cronkite, Joyce C. Hall, Rod Serling, Ed Sullivan, Sylvester L. (Pat) Weaver, Jr.

1st HoF Lucille Ball, Milton Berle, Paddy Chayefsky, Norman Lear, Edward R. Murrow, William S. Paley, David Sarnoff